Sunday, 11 February 2018

GOOD GOVERNANCE: Audu Ogbeh, Wike, 8 Others Bags 2017 Zik Prize Award

Nigeria’s Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Dr. Audu Ogbeh has been named amongst nine prominent Nigerians that won the 2017 Zik Prize for public service.

Chief Audu Ogbeh emerged the Zik Prize winner in public service for his success in the last two years as he championed the return to agriculture as a means of diversifying the Nigerian economy.

Announcing the winners in Lagos, Member, Advisory Board, Public Policy Research and Analysis Centre, (PPRAC), Prof. Pat Utomi, said the Zik Prize Leadership Award was instituted 24 years ago in honour of the first President of Nigeria, Late Dr. Nnamdi Azikwe, primarily to encourage and nurture leadership on the African continent and in the diaspora.

 According to Utomi, the year 2017 Zik Prize Award is set to follow this noble tradition of recognizing service excellence, adding that an exhaustive appraisal of nominees in various award categories have been done before these official announcement of their names.
“Today, Nigeria is now the largest rice producer in West Africa and agriculture is the largest employer of labour, providing up to 70 per cent of the nation’s employment.”

Other prominent Nigerians recognised include: the former deputy governor of Oyo State and former Governor Osun state/First Interim National Chairman of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Chief Bisi Akande; the governor of Katsina State, Rt. Hon. Aminu Bello-Masari, River State Governor, Nyesom Wike among others.

No comments:

Post a Comment

we love to hear from you,please drop a comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...